Blog

Turn off read receipts for specific conversations in iOS 10

abbI have my read receipts on and I love the transparency. In a world where we are always accessible, I hope that my read receipts provide my friends and coworkers reassurance that I am not simply ignoring their messages but rather I am not on my phone (which happens!!). I’d like to think this also applies to my family members. Mom, if I haven’t read your texts yet, I am probably not available for a phone call, just saying. But regardless of the read receipts and the reasons behind it, sometimes you don’t want the same features to apply to everyone in your contacts. Perhaps I’ll let you discover that reasoning on your own… 😉

iMessage lets you toggle between showing read receipts and not showing, but that’s as far as the customization goes. In iOS 10 however, users have been given the option to turn off read receipts within each conversation, meaning you can show read receipts to your bff and not your boss. Or vice a versa.

To discover this feature, send read receipts has to be on to start with, meaning if the thought of read receipts alone is too weird for you, you might want to find another iOS 10 feature to play with. First, go to the settings in your iPhone, then messages, and find the send read receipts toggle and implement. So if you are like me, after updating to iOS 10 you can skip this step entirely. Now comes the fun. Begin customizing who will get to see read receipts and who won’t by switching to the Message application in your iPhone. Within each conversation, in the top right corner, tap the information icon. Where you see “send read receipts” with a toggle option, choose how you would like to proceed for that conversation. Proceed with all conversations that you want to not show your read receipts.

As a user, I am torn. I think the accessibility of the feature can be viewed in two ways. Navigating the feature within each conversation could become tiresome if the user is looking to show read receipts for only a few contacts, such as with a significant other or family members. In this regard the user would have to go through every conversation and turn off the feature. What about those contacts that you haven’t texted recently enough to have a conversation to go back to? Will you remember to turn off this feature for each new communication? Probably not. It would be ideal if the feature had better audience control within iMessage settings. In retrospect, for users like myself that already have read receipts in use for all contacts, being able to turn off read receipts for individual conversations is a great bonus.

Nice feature, could have better audience selection.


 

If you would like to educate yourself in more detail about the information presented in this blog post please visit : www.howtogeek.com